Fruits and vegatables, healthy and filling

The American Dietetic Association recommends that women eat two cups of fruit and two and a half cups of vegetables each day. Not only is eating the daily recommended quantity of fruits and vegetables important for a heart-healthy diet, it also adds a lot of bulk, which helps you feel full after eating.

My recent visit to the Dallas Farmers Market was just what I needed to jump-start my effort to eat enough fruits and vegetables daily. Because the market’s produce was so beautifully displayed, I wanted to purchase everything I saw. Not until I was home and unpacked my bag did I realize I’d purchased far more than I could reasonably consume before it would all began to spoil.

Why measure portions?

I decided to measure and track my vegetable and fruit portions for a few days to ensure I was eating the recommended quantities, even though I believed I already was. I was surprised to discover that I was actually only eating about three cups of fruits and vegetables instead of the recommended four and a half cups.

As it turned out, I didn’t have more produce than I could eat — blueberries for breakfast, a sliced tomato and avacado for lunch, squash for dinner and a banana for a snack was easily five cups. I was able to polish off everything I’d purchased from the market in about five days.

Leave a Reply

